FIA decides on regulatory adjustments

It is not only the motorhomes that will enter the Formula One paddock at the Belgian Grand Prix this weekend. Each team may thus also bring ten additional staff to the race track.

As part of the conditions for returning to the race sport had been agreed before the season, according to the COVID Code of Conduct of the FIA, each team is limited to 80 persons.

This number includes the long-established number of 60 persons associated with the operation of the car and subject to a curfew. The remaining 20’s are for drivers, management, physiotherapists, PR and marketing staff as well as all other persons associated with the team.

Posted: 90 employees per team allowed

After the first six races, the teams have declared themselves ready, to use again their own hospitality facilities and their own catering service. It turned out to be more cost-effective than hitherto having recourse to temporary facilities of the racing tracks and a central catering provider.

To meet the additional staff requirements resulting from this, the number of employees per team has now been increased to 90. This figure has already been formally approved by the World Motor Sports Council and has been included in the sports regulations.

Also slightly modified was the rule concerning the allocation of tyres. In order to make life easier for Pirelli and because of the uncertain nature of the calendar, it was agreed before the season that all drivers have an identical allocation for each race (two sets of hard, three sets of medium, eight sets of soft tires).

Test ban on new racing tracks has been confirmed

The rule now includes the addition, unless otherwise specified by the AIF and with the agreement of the equipment company.” The main reason for this is the two-day event in Imola. However, the rule will allow alternative allocations to be nominated elsewhere if necessary.

A third amendment concerns the ban on testing old cars in advance on new scheduled routes. The producers had already agreed to this. It includes all routes that were included in the season after the 4th October 2019, when the original calendar was published.